• Font Size:
  • A
  • A
  • A


Joseph F. Engelberger Awards

Awards Fact Sheet

The Engelberger Robotics Award is the world's most prestigious robotics honor. The awards are presented to individuals for excellence in technology development, application, education, and leadership in the robotics industry. Each winner receives a $5,000 honorarium and commemorative medallion with the inscription, "Contributing to the advancement of the science of robotics in the service of mankind."

The Awards recognize outstanding individuals from all over the world. Since the awards inception in 1977, they have been presented to 116 robotics leaders from 17 different nations.

Engelberger Robotics Awards Winners Around the World
Country Recipients Country Recipients
USA 59 France 3
Japan 12 Sweden 3
Switzerland 5 Australia 1
Germany 8 Korea 3
Italy 6 Norway 1
Canada 4 Poland 1
England 2 Yugoslavia 1
Belguim 2 Austria  1
Denmark 1    
Total Joseph F. Engelberger Robotics Awards Recipients: 116

Click here to see all recipients sorted by country.


Engelberger Robotics Awards FAQ's

  • Who is Joseph F. Engelberger?
    Joseph F. Engelberger is known throughout the world as the founding force behind industrial robotics and considered the father of the modern robotics industry. Engelberger was founder and president of Unimation, Inc., the world's first industrial robot manufacturer.
  • What do you receive as the recipient of the Engelberger Robotics Award?
    Each winner receives a $5,000 honorarium and commemorative medallion with the inscription, "Contributing to the advancement of the science of robotics in the service of mankind."
  • Who selects the Joseph F. Engelberger Awards winners?
    An award committee consisting of the past presidents of the Robotic Industries Association reviews all nominations and chooses the award recipients.
  • Who are the past Engelberger Robotics Awards winners?
    Click Here to see who the past Engelberger Robotics Awards winners are!
  • Where are the Joseph F. Engelberger Awards presented?
    The awards are presented each year in conjunction with the International Symposium on Robotics. 
  • Who presents the Joseph F. Engelberger Awards?
    The awards will be presented by the RIA Chairman and the RIA President.
  • If the person I nominate is not selected, do I need to continue to nominate them?
    No, the applicant is automatically resubmitted each year. However, if you desire to submit additional information on the nominee, that information may be forwarded to RIA.
  • Why should I nominate someone for the Engelberger Robotics Award?
    Recognition of this sort is a valuable public relations gesture for your company and the robotics industry, and helps encourage the quest for excellence. And in the words of past award winners:

    After nearly 30 years of involvement with the field of robotics, I was deeply honored and humbled to have been chosen to receive the Joseph F. Engelberger Award in the area of Applications. The Engelberger Award is internationally recognized as a kind of Olympic gold medal in the field. The inscription cites "contributing to the advancement of the science of robotics in the service of mankind" - I take those words very seriously and am proud to have contributed in some fashion to Joe's grand dream.

    Steve Holland
    Director, Controls, Robotics & Welding
    General Motors Corporation.

    "Winning the Engleberger Leadership award was the pinnacle of my twenty five years in factory automation. It was an honor to receive this award in such a successful industry yet so humbling when I considered prior winners and the tremendous leadership and accomplishments of Joe himself."

    Charlie Duncheon
    Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
    Adept Technologies

    When I received the Joseph F. Engelberger Award in Tokyo in 1999, I was (and still am) greatly honored to join the ranks of such notables as Frank DiPietro, John DiPonio, Eric Mittelstadt, Ron Potter, Walt Weisel and others.  As a recipient, I continue to be deeply humbled to be included amongst industry pioneers and those who have advanced the state of the art of robotics. As I meet other recipients at industry meetings, or renew acquaintances, we share a common bond that is unique and extraordinary.

    Tom Helzerman
    Ariel Group

    My nomination for the Engelberger Award was a wonderful surprise for me. It is a very special honor to receive this award, and a link to the founder of Unimation, whom I highly respect for his achievements for the robot industry.

    Tony Stäubli
    President & CEO
    Stäubli Unimation

Back to Main Event Page

Browse by Product:

Browse by Company:

Browse by Services: